The Five Love Languages

1. Words of Affirmation
Compliments, words of encouragement, and requests rather than demands affirm the self-worth of your spouse.

2. Quality Time
Spending quality time together through sharing, listening, and participating in joint meaningful activities communicates that we truely care for and enjoy each other.

3. Receiving Gifts
Gifts are tangible symbols of love, whether they are items you purchased or made or are merely your own presense made available to your spouse. Gifts demonstrate that you care, and they represent the value of the relationship.

4. Acts of Service
Criticism of your spouse’s failure to do things for you may be an indication that “acts of service” is your primary love language. Acts of service should never be coerced but should be freely given and received, and completed as requested.

5. Physical Touch
Physical touch, as a gesture of love, reaches to the depths of our being. As a love language, it is a powerful form of communication – from the smallest touch on the shoulder to the most passionate kiss.

From Gary Chapmans book – The Five Love Languages


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: